Dillon, day 13 of my life in DC!

AKA Day 3 of Lockdown!

Ah, Saturday morning, a day to rest and relax and go to the park! It’s also a day when Dad is home and they sleep in a bit. Sounds great right? Nope, not so much. Every extra minute they sleep in means more time I spend in solitary! And as usual, they have my crate facing the bed where I can see my sister, Micky snoozing in luxury on the bed. I guess it’s a little added jab to remind me I’m on lockdown. Probably the Warden’s idea. Whatever, I can outlast them. I’m tough!
When they finally dragged themselves out, I was ushered out back to make sure we chased away the Phantom Whizzer.
Holy Crap! Where did that wind come from? Yesterday it was like 80 degrees outside. Today, it was easily 20 degrees colder with a howling wind! LET ME BACK INSIDE! The park is definitely out of the question today.
Okay, I guess we’ll hang out here and watch NASCAR. I guess that’s a thing around here…
HEY! Get away from that! Back Off Woman! I’m still…

Good Grief! Ever since he got here it has been all about Dillon! “I’m so cute!” “I like to play!” “Where’s my ball?” BARF!
This is Micky and I’m just about sick of all the attention this little punk gets around here. Even on Facebook he’s getting more attention than I am. What about me? I’m the princess! Sure, I’m shorter than he is and I could care less about chasing a ball, but I’m way better. I’m a girl! What about my life?
When he first got here, I was nice. I even played with him a bit, but I had no idea he was staying!?! Who approved this decision? Was I even consulted? I don’t think so. (Then again, I spend a lot of time snoozing, so I might have missed it.) He’s not so bad I guess, but now I’m stuck with him.
So let me tell you about my typical day. Since today was Saturday, we slept in a little bit. I love sleeping in. It’s all warm and snuggly and the bed is SO soft. I even have my own special sleep blanket. Every morning, there’s a cookie sitting next to me. What a great way to start the day! When we come downstairs, I get to hang out in the kitchen while the little guy gets dragged outside. Mr. Tiny Bladder can’t be trusted, so he has to go out before doing anything else. This morning it was freezing and really windy outside. I have to tell you, I got some perverse enjoyment out of watching him shiver and dodge the leaves blowing at him. (Don’t tell anyone that. They think I’m an angel.) Anyway, he finally did his thing and it was breakfast time. Right after breakfast, it was time for my morning exercise; I hopped up on the couch to take a snooze. Unfortunately, this is when Dillon decided to play with one of the few toys that still squeak. Squeak, squeak, squeak, squeak for the next 30 minutes. Do you know how hard it is to sleep through that? Fortunately, I’m a pro and managed to get in a few winks.
When I finally got up to go outside, Dad was out there, trying out his new leaf blower. What a racket! For some reason, this is when Mom decided she needed to try on our Halloween t-shirts. As is typical these days, Dillon got the cool glow in the dark one and I get the tiny little bright orange one. It was way too tight and I looked like a pudgy little pumpkin. How humiliating! Of all the fun t-shirts I have, she picks the one that makes me look fat? Ugh! I’m so upset I need to take a nap.

It’s about time she got out of the way! It’s Dillon again.
She wasn’t kidding. She looked like a little Butterball Turkey! Too bad it isn’t Thanksgiving! OMG! She looked miserable. I almost felt sorry for her… Almost.
Well, it never warmed up today, so I spent most of my time hanging out on the couch or following Mom and Dad around the house. I’m not sure what all they were doing, but I was right there to help if they needed it.
Now, I’m going to change things up a bit and chew on a cow’s hoof for a bit. Fortunately, I have them spread around the living room for easy selection. Going outside blows, literally! I hope tomorrow is warmer.
Have a good night!

Leave a Reply

