Dillon, day 17 of my life in DC!

I am King of the bed! Last night when we were going to bed, Micky got mad that I was sleeping in her spot. So, she hopped off the bed and went into my crate. She just sat down and went to sleep. The door wasn’t even closed! She could have walked right out, but didn’t seem to care. What is wrong with that girl? How could she choose to sleep in the crate instead of on the nice comfy bed?!? I went over to check on her a couple times, but she just ignored me. Very strange! Oh well, I hopped up on the bed and said goodnight to Dad. (That’s the photo you see here.) For some reason I don’t think he was as enthusiastic about it as I was. Oh well, might as well get some sleep.

In the morning, I slept in after Dad left and didn’t move from the bed like Micky had told me to do and I had a nice breakfast after my morning walk. We even got Bully Bites for snacks. I don’t know what those things are, but I love em! Micky gets upset because it takes me so long to eat them. I can’t help it. They’re so good, I just take my time. Mmmm… Yummy!
Then, Mom started getting ready to go somewhere and Micky and I were both excited that we were getting to go too. Yay! Car trips two days in a row! Awesome!
Unfortunately, that didn’t happen. Nope, we got locked up in our crates and she left us all alone. It was terrible. I don’t know how long she was gone, but it seemed like FOREVER! Ugh. I was miserable.
When Mom finally got home I tried to tell her how much I missed her. I howled and screeched and pawed at the door to my crate to show how happy I was that she was home. For some reason she didn’t understand what I was trying to tell her. She told me to quiet down and then sat outside my crate until I sat nicely. Worse, she unlatched one latch at a time to make sure I stayed quiet. UGH!
Finally, I was freed from my prison cell and could race around the house. Mom said I was a total madman! You’d think she’d be happy that I was excited to see her. Can I help it that I get excited when she gets home? Would she prefer that I ignore her comings and goings? I think not!
I guess she felt guilty about abandoning us because we got a SECOND Bully Bite this afternoon. Happy Days!
After I finally finished chewing my snack, it was time for a little ball. While I’m perfectly happy to play ball by myself, it’s so much better when I play with someone. So, I brought my ball to Mom. Now, as you may know, I’m serious about my ball playing. I’m good at shagging balls in the outfield. I’m good at scrambling for the grounders. I’m just plain good at it. So, I expect the person playing with me to be serious about it too. Sadly, Mom was just phoning it in today. (At least that’s what I think she was playing with. Stupid iThing!) She just sat in the house and tossed my ball out the backdoor for me to run down and find. Yes, I still get to run and play. I scurry down the stairs as fast as I can in hopes that I get there before the ball stops rolling. A rolling ball is so much easier for me to find. With all the leaves and my limited color differentiation, it takes a little longer for me to find once it stops moving.
Just a clue, if you see me coming for the stairs, get out of my way!
I had my doubts about this plan from the get go, but when Mom tossed the ball, I ran to get it. Soon enough, Mom had to get up to figure out why I wasn’t coming back. With a lame bounce off the deck, she had tossed my ball into the tree.
It took me a while to figure out what happened, but I did. I used my nose to narrow down where the ball should have been, but I couldn’t find it. When Mom came out, she saw it sitting in the tree. And then I finally saw it!! I’m sure she would have come down to help, but I wasn’t waiting. I can jump. So, I did. I jumped up and poked the branches with my nose a couple of times and sure enough, out popped my ball. I decided that was enough ball for a little while. I love chasing my ball, but I didn’t want Mom to feel bad about losing it again. Besides, It’s getting close to dinnertime and I’m starving. I should remind them, but I’ll just wait. They’ll remember… I hope!
More tomorrow! I love this place! Lots to do every day and fun people who love doing it with me!

Leave a Reply

