Dillon, day 51 of my life in DC!

Ugh, what a production! You wouldn’t believe the torture Micky and I have had to endure today! First of all, it’s raining, which just generally sucks. Not that I mind the rain or being wet, but we don’t get to go outside to play when it’s raining. I’m not sure why, really. Maybe Mom thinks we don’t want to be out there or that we’ll get cold. She’s always taking care of us and making sure we have what we need. I like that about her.

Anyway, we don’t get to go out much on rainy days and that means I have to come up with other ways to spend my day. Ordinarily, I would follow Mom around to help her do the things she does. She has lots to do every day and we keep pretty busy. But today, she got all dressed up, loaded up her purse, and got ready to go on a roadtrip. Micky and I were excited because we love roadtrips. We weren’t sure where we were going, but Mom was packing several bags for the trip. Wow, a big trip! Awesome!
And then the other shoe dropped. She wasn’t packing for a roadtrip. She was packing for a shopping trip. That blows! We never get to go on shopping trips. Well, Micky gets to go sometimes, but I’m always stuck at home when it’s shopping. Ugh!
For those keeping track, that’s two crummy things in one day. First it’s raining and then we’re locked up inside while Mom is shopping. In case you were wondering, things can always get worse, and they did. That was what I was talking about when we started. The production involved in going outside and coming back in is just short of a full body cavity search. Even a little trip out to take a leak involves a full body wipe down to remove any hint of mud. It’s so undignified. Micky and I have to line up at the back door and wait to be let in. Once inside, we’re forced to go through a gauntlet of towels, mud removing gloves, and who knows what else before we’re allowed to step one foot on the floors. I don’t get it. We go outside and run around on the grass and dirt every day. It’s not like we wear shoes or anything. Why do they care so much? Sure, a little more dirt comes in with us, and maybe you can see a footprint or two [dozen], but why get so excited over a little extra dust? I can only imagine what’s gonna happen if it snows!

'Somebody stole my spot on the couch.''Sharing their hooves'
'Dillon doesn't chew with the same vigor as Micky, but he enjoys them just as much.''Micky doesn't screw around when it comes to chewies. She gets right down to business.''I'm sleeping here. Is that okay? You can work around it right?'
Leave a Reply

