Dillon, day 63 of my life in DC!

I’m not sure I’m such a fan of this whole “winter” thing. Not only is it cold outside, but every time I go out, I get mauled on the way back into the house. Before I get one foot on the doormat inside the house, they’re picking me up and cleaning my feet with their handy-dandy towel glove. They think they’re so cool… They have their own special glove to hassle me with. Yay…

I’m starting to understand why Micky is always wishing she was a Saint Bernard. If I weighed 150 plus, they wouldn’t be able to pick me up and keep me from running around. Wait till you see the pictures!
One time when we went out, I was – wait for it – chasing my ball and I totally wiped out. I walked it off like I meant to do it, but I had a huge mud patch on my butt. I knew I wasn’t getting back into the house with that on me. And if I’m being honest, it didn’t feel very good. So, when I came in, I was glad Dad wanted to pick me up and massage my butt with his towel glove. It felt much better after he got done.
Another thing I don’t like about all this winter business is everyone’s lack of interest in stopping to smell the flowers when we go for a walk around the neighborhood. It’s like they’re racing each other back to the house. When Micky comes along, she’s happy enough to dawdle along for a little bit, but then she too wants to get back inside and park on the couch.
Dad’s a pretty good sport about it usually. He gets all dressed up with a spare coat, hat, and gloves before we go, but he mostly lets me hang out as much as I want. I’m not sure why they complain so much. I’m out there with my goodies blowing in the wind and you don’t see me griping nearly as much as they do.
There are a few good things about the cold. When we’re inside, I get to snuggle up under a blanket as much as I want. When there’s football on, at least one of them is sitting on the couch with me. Even Micky was cuddled up with me for a while. I was toasty warm! So what if I sleep in some weird positions. (See the other embarrassing photo Mom took!)

Image may contain: one or more people and people sitting
Image may contain: one or more people, people sitting and dog

Leave a Reply

