Dillon, day 68 of my life in DC!

Whew! The cold continues with another morning well below freezing. I think they said something about 19 degrees, but the only thing that matters to me is what it feels like. It feels like I’m not going back out there for a while!

That’s okay, I’ll just sit on the couch and watch some TV. You know, I should point out one of my biggest complaints around here. When I’m sitting on the couch, facing the TV, what makes them think I’m not paying attention? I can’t tell you the number of times they’ve scooped me up to snuggle with me and managed to make it so I can’t see the TV. It has taken a bit of time, but I think they’ve finally figured out that I start wiggling immediately because I’m trying to see the TV.
I mean, it should have been a clue that when we’re watching Mad Men, my ears perk up when something exciting happens. I even watch the commercials. This time of year there are a lot of commercials about adopting dogs or gifts you can buy for them. There’s even a really funny insurance commercial call “Merr-Mutts.” That one is hilarious! I wish I could figure out a way to make an indoor pool! (Not sure Mom and Dad would appreciate 3 feet of water in the living room, but still.)
If you’re curious what I like to watch, it’s mostly comedies and drama. I’m not real wild about the history crap that Dad likes to watch. Then again, outrageous acts of science is kinda cool because there’s always lots of stuff flying around the screen and weird noises. Plus, I usually learn something important from the stupid mistakes the people on this show make. My favorite is the Dumb-@ss who lets his dog run around with a Roman Candle firework. I don’t really care about the fireballs flying around. I’m more worried about the poor dog getting hurt if the thing blows up. People are supposed to take much better care of their furry friends. Jerks!
Today there were more people out front working in the yard. I’m dying to know what they’re up to. When I had to go out there for a potty break, I saw them digging a big hole. What the heck? It’s too bad it’s so cold out there. Not that I’m really into digging, but Micky loves it and could probably help them make faster progress. She’s got “4-wheel drive” you know. Oh well, maybe another day. Since we know Mom and Dad don’t care about people digging in the yard, maybe we’ll give it a shot when it warms up.
Speaking of 4-wheel drive, Dad decided that I needed to be chased around the yard today. Who’s he kidding? There’s NO WAY he’s going to catch me. I can run circles around him on a normal day, but when the ground is frozen, he had no chance.
He started after me and then slipped on the icy grass and totally busted his @ss. I was laughing so hard I almost dropped my ball. What a dope! He was having fun though, so I was accommodating. I was having fun too, I guess, and I got plenty of exercise for a change. Winter still sucks, but I’m figuring out ways to work around it.

Leave a Reply

