Dillon, day 71 of my life in DC!

Somebody is digging a giant hole in my front yard and I don’t get to help!

For the past couple of days, there’s been a couple of guys standing out in the freezing cold, digging a hole. Now, I’m no engineer or anything, but it seems kind of weird. From what Dad has been saying every time he looks out the front door, they’re digging a Dam. He says things like “That Damn thing is never gonna get done” and “The Damn truck just left!”
I don’t know what he’s complaining about. It’s a magnificent hole! Why, it has got to be six feet deep and almost that wide. And it took two whole days to dig, so it has got to be a great hole! It was fascinating to watch. I sat in the front doorway and watched all day long. Trucks came and went, people stood around looking in the hole and then dug some more. I don’t know what they’re looking for, but it was sure hidden well. I hope they come back tomorrow!
Actually, you see all kinds of exciting stuff when you sit by the door. Dad has a Woodpecker feeder right outside the front door and those little red-headed things popped in every few minutes for a snack. I have no idea what he’s feeding them, but it’s tasty. I know! Why else would they come out in the freezing weather to get some? When Dad isn’t paying attention, I get to clean up the crumbs and they are delicious.
I think the bird feeder is a set up though. Dad put it there so he could take pictures of the birds through the storm door without disturbing them. He enjoys it, but he sure looks funny with his lens pointed up into the sky all the time. Here, I’ll even give you a link to one of the photos he took yesterday. (Yeah yeah, pretty bird. If Woody had come a little closer, he’d have been a snack!)

Image may contain: dog
Image may contain: dog

Leave a Reply

