Dillon, day 149 of my life in DC!

Monday, 7 March 2017

Battle Stations! All hands on deck! The squirrels are massing outside the fence and the situation is becoming critical. There’s only Micky and me to fend off these little fur balls and we can’t keep them all out. But we’re trying!
I know I’ve been talking about the squirrels for the past few days, but I’m obsessed. I can’t help it. It seems like the little guys are everywhere. All day long, I sit and watch. I’m starting to get the hang of being quiet while I watch, but I still just lose my mind when I decide it’s time to attack.
The noise I make as I bound down the stairs is something to behold. Mom says it hurts her ears, but sometimes in war, there are casualties. Mom’s ears are a small price to pay for the defense of our backyard.
Even when it started raining, I didn’t let down the defenses. I just set up my observation post inside. I think sitting inside is actually better anyway. In there, I can sit right next to the glass door and see the squirrels without letting on that I’m watching. Then, when one makes a mistake by patrolling inside the yard, I sound the alarm and either Mom or Dad releases the hounds. Dad says its the alarm part that is limiting my success. Meh, that’s the part I like the best, so we’ll just have to agree to disagree on that point.

Leave a Reply

